When selecting most events, you will be given the ability to select a Clearance Level. Clearance Levels let you play for rewards that are useful for your roster.

Which Events have Clearance Levels?
All regular Story and Versus Events will have Clearance Levels. S.H.I.E.L.D. Simulator and Seasons will have Clearance Levels as well. Deadpool Daily and Lightning rounds do not have Clearance Levels.

How do I select a Clearance Level?
The first time you enter an event, a prompt will display the Clearance Levels that are available to you. You can select any Clearance Level that you have access to. After selecting the level, you will see the normal end time selection prompt. At this point, you will be able to change your Clearance Level. After you have chosen an end time, however, you will be locked into that Clearance Level for the duration of the event.

How do you unlock Clearance Level?
Clearance Levels unlock at different S.H.I.E.L.D. Ranks.

What is the difference in rewards between each Clearance Level?
Each Clearance Level has different Placement and Progression rewards that are directly beneficial  to the S.H.I.E.L.D Rank you are. Higher Clearance Levels provide characters of a higher star rating, more Iso-8, Hero Points, Command Points, and Shards. Below are the target goals for each Clearance Level:
  • Clearance Level 1 and 2 for 1-Stars.
  • Clearance Level 3 through 5 for 2-Stars.
  • Clearance Level 5 through 7 for 3-Stars.
  • Clearance Level 7 and 8 for 4-Stars.
  • Clearance Level 9 and 10 for 5-Stars.
How do I view what rewards I will get?
When you select the Event Rewards button on the Select a Clearance Level screen, you will be able to see the rewards for each Clearance Level that is available to you.

What if I want the rewards of a Clearance Level lower than the maximum Clearance Level I have earned?
You are able to enter any Clearance Level that is available to you.

Who am I competing against for these rewards?
When you enter an event you join a leaderboard that comprises of other players that have selected the same Clearance Level and End Time that you have (event leaderboards still have the same maximum capacity as before). You will be competing against players in this leaderboard for Placement rewards.

How do Versus Events work with Clearance Levels?
Clearance Levels in Versus Events act just like any other event in terms of who you are competing against on the leaderboard. As for matchmaking, you will be matchmade against players in the same End Time to ensure there are enough players to play against. Clearance Levels currently does not impact matchmaking.

Do S.H.I.E.L.D. Clearance Levels affect character restrictions for the event? Does it affect enemy levels or composition in missions?
Currently, different Clearance Levels do not change the characters that you play with or against, or the mission difficulty.

Do mission rewards change?
Currently, mission rewards do not change for different Clearance Levels.

Do Progression score targets change with different S.H.I.E.L.D. Clearance Levels?
Currently, each Clearance Level has the same Progression score targets. Command Points is the last Progression reward and has the same score target for each Clearance Level.

How do Alliance Rewards work?

Each member of the Alliance receives the reward from the Clearance Level that they chose. For example, a player who selected S.H.I.E.L.D. Clearance Level 6, whose Alliance placed in the top 10, will receive all Clearance Level 6 rewards for top 10. If a member of the same Alliance chose S.H.I.E.L.D. Clearance Level 5, that player would receive all the Clearance Level 5 rewards for top 10.